Potential contrast agents for MRI based on manganese (II) complexes

by Bohuslav Drahoš

Doctoral thesis in Chimie inorganique

Under the supervision of Eva Jakab-Toth and Ivan Lukeš.

defended on 23-09-2011

in Orléans and the jointly supervising institution l'Univerzita Karlova (Prague) , under the authority of Ecole doctorale Sciences et technologies (Orléans) , in a partnership with Centre de biophysique moléculaire (Orléans ; 1967-) (laboratoire) .

Thesis committee President: Ivan Nĕmec.

Thesis committee members: Eva Jakab-Toth, Ivan Lukeš, Ivan Nĕmec, Carlos Geraldes, Imre Tóth, Stéphane Petoud.


  • Abstract

    The thesis is focused on the synthesis and characterization of novel manganese complexes as alternative to Gd3+ chelates which are wide-spread contrast agents in Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI). In this perspective, three structurally different groups of pentadentate ligands for Mn2+ complexation have been investigated. Coordination numbers of 6 or 7 were determined in the crystal structure of the Mn2+ complexes enabling one or two water molecules in the first sphere. The thermodynamic stability of the chelates is lower than that of polyaminocarboxylate complexes and their dissociation is very fast in comparison to [Mn(nota)] and [Mn(dota)]2–. Only Mn2+ complexes with 12- membered ligands undergo oxidation in air to Mn3+ species. The proton relaxivities of the bishydrated complexes are two times higher than those for monohydrated complexes and are comparable to those of commercial contrast agents. Variable-temperature 17O NMR data revealed that the water exchange varies from slow to intermediate or to extremely fast, depending on the ligand. High-pressure 17O NMR measurements confirmed dissociative water exchange mechanism on complexes with CN = 7 and associative mechanism on complexes with CN = 6. Small endogenous bidentate anions are capable of replacing only one water molecule in the bishydrated complex with the 15-membered pentaaza ligand (L2), while in other cases the complex is decomposed or no influence is observed.

  • Alternative Title

    Les agents de contrast potentiels pour MRI derivé par les complexes de manganese(II)


  • Abstract

    La thèse se concentre sur la synthèse et la caractérisation de nouveaux complexes de manganèse comme alternative possible aux complexes de gadolinium, actuellement les agents de contraste de choix pour l’Imagerie par Résonance Magnétique (IRM). Dans cette perspective, nous nous sommes intéressés à trois groupes de ligands pentadentés pour la complexation de Mn2+. Des nombres de coordination de 6 ou 7 ont été déterminés par cristallographie pour ces complexes, permettant la coordination d’une ou deux molécules d’eau en première sphère de coordination de Mn2+. La stabilité thermodynamique de ces complexes est plus faible que celle de complexes polyaminocarboxylates et leur dissociation est très rapide comparée à [Mn(nota)] et [Mn(dota)]2-. Seuls les complexes de Mn2+ avec des ligands macrocycliques à 12 atomes sont oxydés en Mn3+ à l’air. Les relaxivités des complexes bishydratés sont deux fois plus élevées que celles des complexes monohydratés et elles sont comparables à celles des agents de contraste commerciaux. Les données de RMN d’17O mesurées à différentes températures ont montré que l’échange d’eau peut être lent, intermédiaire, ou rapide selon le ligand. Les mesures à hautes pressions ont confirmé que le mécanisme d’échange est de type dissociatif pour les complexes avec un nombre de coordination de 7 et de type associatif pour les complexes avec un nombre de coordination de 6. Les petits anions bidentés endogènes peuvent remplacer une molécule d’eau dans les complexes bishydratés de macrocycles pentaazotés à 15 atomes, alors que pour les autres soit le complexe se décompose, soit il n’y a pas d’influence.

Access on line

Respect of intellectual property rights holders, some elements of this thesis have been removed.


It's available in the institution of thesis defence.

Consult library

Version is available

Where is this thesis?

See the Sudoc catalog libraries of higher education and research.

Potential contrast agents for MRI based on manganese (II) complexes

par Bohuslav Drahoš

Thèse de doctorat en Chimie inorganique

Sous la direction de Eva Jakab-Toth et de Ivan Lukeš.

Soutenue le 23-09-2011

à Orléans en cotutelle avec l'Univerzita Karlova (Prague) , dans le cadre de Ecole doctorale Sciences et technologies (Orléans) , en partenariat avec Centre de biophysique moléculaire (Orléans ; 1967-) (laboratoire) .

Le président du jury était Ivan Nĕmec.

Le jury était composé de Eva Jakab-Toth, Ivan Lukeš, Ivan Nĕmec, Carlos Geraldes, Imre Tóth, Stéphane Petoud.

  • Titre traduit

    Les agents de contrast potentiels pour MRI derivé par les complexes de manganese(II)


  • Résumé

    La thèse se concentre sur la synthèse et la caractérisation de nouveaux complexes de manganèse comme alternative possible aux complexes de gadolinium, actuellement les agents de contraste de choix pour l’Imagerie par Résonance Magnétique (IRM). Dans cette perspective, nous nous sommes intéressés à trois groupes de ligands pentadentés pour la complexation de Mn2+. Des nombres de coordination de 6 ou 7 ont été déterminés par cristallographie pour ces complexes, permettant la coordination d’une ou deux molécules d’eau en première sphère de coordination de Mn2+. La stabilité thermodynamique de ces complexes est plus faible que celle de complexes polyaminocarboxylates et leur dissociation est très rapide comparée à [Mn(nota)] et [Mn(dota)]2-. Seuls les complexes de Mn2+ avec des ligands macrocycliques à 12 atomes sont oxydés en Mn3+ à l’air. Les relaxivités des complexes bishydratés sont deux fois plus élevées que celles des complexes monohydratés et elles sont comparables à celles des agents de contraste commerciaux. Les données de RMN d’17O mesurées à différentes températures ont montré que l’échange d’eau peut être lent, intermédiaire, ou rapide selon le ligand. Les mesures à hautes pressions ont confirmé que le mécanisme d’échange est de type dissociatif pour les complexes avec un nombre de coordination de 7 et de type associatif pour les complexes avec un nombre de coordination de 6. Les petits anions bidentés endogènes peuvent remplacer une molécule d’eau dans les complexes bishydratés de macrocycles pentaazotés à 15 atomes, alors que pour les autres soit le complexe se décompose, soit il n’y a pas d’influence.


  • Résumé

    The thesis is focused on the synthesis and characterization of novel manganese complexes as alternative to Gd3+ chelates which are wide-spread contrast agents in Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI). In this perspective, three structurally different groups of pentadentate ligands for Mn2+ complexation have been investigated. Coordination numbers of 6 or 7 were determined in the crystal structure of the Mn2+ complexes enabling one or two water molecules in the first sphere. The thermodynamic stability of the chelates is lower than that of polyaminocarboxylate complexes and their dissociation is very fast in comparison to [Mn(nota)] and [Mn(dota)]2–. Only Mn2+ complexes with 12- membered ligands undergo oxidation in air to Mn3+ species. The proton relaxivities of the bishydrated complexes are two times higher than those for monohydrated complexes and are comparable to those of commercial contrast agents. Variable-temperature 17O NMR data revealed that the water exchange varies from slow to intermediate or to extremely fast, depending on the ligand. High-pressure 17O NMR measurements confirmed dissociative water exchange mechanism on complexes with CN = 7 and associative mechanism on complexes with CN = 6. Small endogenous bidentate anions are capable of replacing only one water molecule in the bishydrated complex with the 15-membered pentaaza ligand (L2), while in other cases the complex is decomposed or no influence is observed.

Accéder en ligne

Par respect de la propriété intellectuelle des ayants droit, certains éléments de cette thèse ont été retirés.


Il est disponible au sein de la bibliothèque de l'établissement de soutenance.

Consulter en bibliothèque

La version de soutenance existe

Où se trouve cette thèse ?

  • Bibliothèque : Université d'Orléans (Bibliothèque électronique). Service commun de la documentation.Division des affaires générales.
Voir dans le Sudoc, catalogue collectif des bibliothèques de l'enseignement supérieur et de la recherche.